History and Objectives

On January 28th, 2007 in Chicago, Illinois, a group of individuals from Esanland in Edo State of Nigeria met to deliberate on issues concerning Esan people. To this end, the Esan World Congress Inc. (Formally Esan National Congress, USA/Canada Inc) was formally created with the following objectives declared:

  1. To unify every Esan indigenes everywhere.
  2. To promote, protect and advance Esan culture and civilization through self help projects and government projects.
  3. To facilitate progress and development of Esan land.
  4. To promote and cultivate civic responsibility among Esan indigenes.
  5. To promote the advancement and welfare of Esan indigenes.
  6. To promote harmony and peaceful co-existence with other ethnic groups in Edo State, Nigeria and all over the world.
  7. To set target goals and objectives, develop the goals and implement them as quickly as expeditiously as possible.
  8. To organize a focus group that would continue to help implement defined goals and objectives in Esan land.
  9. To utilize all avenues and opportunities not in contravention with laws to foster the goals and objectives outlined herein.
  10. Build liaison with other Esan indigenes across the world.
  11. Strive to maintain close relationships, support one another, sustain and promote Esan culture and historical values as well as our language, and rich heritage.

At the Chicago meetings, the membership to the Congress was declared open to all organizations that represent the Esan people in the United States of America and Canada. All individuals who were interested in joining Congress were welcomed to join a local organization within their regional district in order to participate in the programs of the Congress.

All organizations seeking membership to the Congress will need to complete the application process, which includes the submission of application form and supporting documents to the Secretariat. The form for this process can be obtained from the Secretariat.

As the Congress moves forward in pursuit of her mission and objectives, only individuals who are certified members of the organization will be sought to serve in various roles within the Congress. The roles that will require such services include but are not limited to the

  1. EWC Executives,
  2. Council of Presidents,
  3. Board of Trustees
  4. Constitution Review Committee, and
  5. Convention Committee among others.
Selection to these committees can be achieved through elections and or appointments.

At the Chicago meetings, the Congress appointed the "Caretaker Committee" led by Mr. Victor Eboh who served as the Interim President to act as executives of the Congress. A "Board of Trustees" was also appointed in an advisory capacity to the Caretaker Committee. The Presidents of the various organizations that were represented at the meetings constituted the "Council of Presidents" for the Congress.

A team was constituted to draft a working Constitution for the Congress. The Constitution was ratified and officially adopted in Dallas, Texas in January of 2008 by the members of the Congress. This Constitution provides the framework for the administration of the mission and objectives of the Congress.

First Annual Convention

Esan World Congress first annual convention of the Congress was awarded to United Esan Organization of Chicago, Illinois and was held on the first weekend of July of 2008 in Chicago, IL under the leadership of the President of the Congress, Mr. Paul Ijiewere who was elected to take the leadership of the Congress in January of 2008 in Dallas, TX.

The EWC Annual Convention will be hosted on a rotational basis by the members of the Congress during the Memorial Day weekend in the month of May of every year. Different members of the Congress will be given the opportunity to present a bid proposal for the intent to host the Convention of the Congress. The award of the rights to host the Convention shall be by the CPC, Executives, companioned with the Leadership Team, followed by the approval of the General Assembly.

The election of officers to Executive positions will be held every two years during the Annual Convention. All individuals interested in serving in Executive positions shall be required to participate in the electoral process announced a few months before the elections. Successful candidates will be sworn-in at the Convention. The next scheduled elections will be held during the 2011 Convention.

Second Annual Convention - Atlanta, Georgia

The hosting of the second EWC Annual Convention of the Congress was awarded to Esan Progressive Association of Atlanta and was held during the Memorial Day weekend in the month of May in Atlanta, while Mr. Kess Agbi served as the Convention Chairperson.

Third Annual Convention - Dallas, Texas

The hosting of the third EWC Annual Convention of the Congress was awarded to Esan Progressive Association Dallas, TX (DFW) and was held during the Memorial Day weekend in the month of May in Dallas, while Mr. Steve Oziegbe Joseph served as the Convention Chairperson.

Fourth Annual Convention - Houston, Texas

The hosting of the fourth EWC Annual Convention of the Congress was awarded to United Esan Organization, Houston, TX and will held during the Memorial Day weekend in the month of May, 2011 in Houston, Texas. Elections are scheduled to be held in Houston, TX where a new president and executive team will be voted into office to manage the affairs of the Congress for the next two years. Dr. Henry Ohen will serve as the Convention Chairperson.

Historical Geographic's of Esan Land :

The rich heritage of Esan cannot be emphasized enough. Geographically, Esanland is located in the former Mid-Western State of Nigeria, which is part of the Niger-Delta zone, now being referred to as the South-South region. Before
the creation of Edo State in 1991, Esanland was located in the defunct Bendel State.

Originally, Esan was a division of the Mid-Western Region with Benin City as its Headquarter. It occupies about 43008.42 square kilometers segmented into two local government areas named:

  1. Agbazilo to the east
  2. and
  3. Okpebholo to the west.

In recent times, the number of the administrative units has increased to five, namely:

  • Esan Central,
  • Esan West,
  • Esan North East,
  • Esan South East and
  • Igueben from the former Okpebholo and Agbazilo.
  • The major Esan groups are:

    Irrua,   Uromi,   Ekpoma,   Ubiaja,   Ugboha,   Ewohimi,   Ewu,   Igueben,   Ohordua,   Uneah,  Ebelle,     Ugbegun,    Opoji,  Okhuesan,   Ekpon,  Ewossa,   Emu,   Amahor,   Ogwa,   Ugun,   Oria,   Ibore,   Ewatto,  Ikekato,   Urohi,   Uzea,    Udo,   Ukhun,   Egoro,  Ujiogba,   Idoa,   Orowa,   Okalo.

    It is important for the sake of history to mention that most ancient villages and town that eventually metamorphosed into the groups above still bear their original names and are still in existence except for Ezen, which has gone into extinction.

    In the current political dispensation, Edo State is delineated into three senatorial zones that are classified according to their geographical locations. By this classification, Esanland is presently known as the Edo Central senatorial zone. This position aptly describes the central role that Esanland plays in the political process of the state. Esanland serves as the buffer zone between the North and the South districts of the state.

    Designed and maintained by Gentechdirect